This event is endorsed
and organized by

8th EAI International Conference on e‐Infrastructure and e‐Services for Developing Countries

December 6–7, 2016 | Ouagadougou, Burkina Faso

It is my great honor to welcome you to the 8th EAI International Conference on e‐Infrastructure and e‐Services for Developing Countries (AFRICOMM) 2016, to be held December 6-7, 2016 at the Sopatel Silmande hotel, Ouagadougou, Burkina Faso. AFRICOMM was established in 2009 in Mozambique and continued 2010 in Cape Town, 2011 in Zanzibar, 2012 in Cameroon, 2013 in Malawi, 2014 in Uganda and 2015 in Benin as a series of annual conferences. Its contributions on cutting edge and relevant e-infrastructures, e-services, and enabling policies have been published in the Springer’s Lecture Notes on ICST.

Deploying efficient and effective infrastructures and solutions when limited resources are available is a challenging task and a key-enabler for the diffusion of ICT in developing countries. The aim of this conference is bringing together international researchers, students, public officers, policymakers and practitioners in ICT to discuss issues and trends, recent research, innovation advances and on-the-field experiences related to e-Governance, e-Infrastructure, and e-Business with a focus on developing countries. The technical program of the AFRICOMM 2016 includes 1 distinguished keynote speech and technical paper presentation sessions with several dedicated sessions and posters/demos and work in progress. AFRICOMM 2016 will provide golden opportunities for the participants and delegates to refresh their knowledge and experiences and explore innovations in the field of computer technology. This conference offers great research collaboration, cooperation and networking opportunities, providing the participants with the opportunity to discuss and interact with leading as well as upcoming researchers and colleagues across Africa and beyond.

The great success and achievement of the conference ultimately relies on the dedicated efforts and hard work of conference organizing committee members, EAI authority and reviewers. The AFRICOMM 2016 is indebted to many volunteers who contributed in planning and organizing both the technical program and supporting social arrangements. In particular, the Technical Program Committee, led by our TPC Chair, Dr. Tegawendé F. Bissyandé, completed a peer-review process of technical papers and made a high-quality technical program. Recognition should also go to our Local Chair, Dr. Mesmin Dandjinou, and Conference Managers, Barbara Fertalova and Ivana Allen, who worked hard to arrange important details of the conference programs and social activities.

It has been a great honor and delight for me to contribute as the General Chair of AFRICOMM 2016. I hope that all delegates and participants find this conference stimulating, fulfilling and enjoyable and wish them pleasant and wonderful time in the country of Upright people. Finally, I would like to sincerely thank authorities of the Universities of Burkina Faso and the LAMI (Laboratoire de Mathématiques et d'Informatique) as well as our multiple sponsors (ARCEP, World Bank, ANPTIC).


Prof. Oumarou SIE
General Chair of AFRICOMM 2016
Université Ouaga I Pr. Joseph Ki-Zerbo (Burkina Faso)